Rt. Hon. Joseph Honoré Gérald Fauteux, March 23, 1970

Hon. Jean-Pierre Goyer, December 22, 1970 Hon. Alastair William Gillespie, August 11, 1971 Hon. Martin Patrick O'Connell, August 11, 1971 Hon. Patrick Morgan Mahoney, January 21, 1972 Hon. Stanley Haidasz, November 27, 1972 Hon. Eugene F. Whelan, November 27, 1972
Hon. Warren Allmand, November 27, 1972
Hon. J. Hugh Faulkner, November 27, 1972
Hon. André Ouellet, November 27, 1972
Hon. Daniel J. MacDonald, November 27, 1972
Hon. Marc Lalonde, November 27, 1972
Hon. Jeanne Sauvé, November 27, 1972.

The Prime Minister. The Prime Minister is the leader of the political party requested by the Governor General to form the government, which almost always means that he is the leader of the party with the strongest representation in the House of Commons. His position is one of exceptional authority stemming in part from the success of the party at an election. The Prime Minister chooses his Cabinet. When a member of Cabinet resigns, the remainder of the Cabinet is undisturbed; when the Prime Minister vacates his office, this act normally carries with it the resignation of all those in the Cabinet.

One source of the authority of the Prime Minister lies in his prerogative to recommend the dissolution of Parliament. This prerogative, which in most circumstances permits him to precipitate an election, is a source of considerable power both in his dealings with his colleagues and with the opposition parties in the House of Commons.

Another source of the Prime Minister's authority derives from the appointments which he recommends including Privy Councillors, Cabinet Ministers, Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, provincial administrators, Speakers of the Senate, Chief Justices of all courts, senators and certain senior executives of the Public Service. The Prime Minister also recommends the appointment of a new Governor General to the Sovereign, although this normally follows consultation with his Cabinet.

Following are the Prime Ministers since Confederation, with dates of administrations:

Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald, July 1, 1867 - November 5, 1873

Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, November 7, 1873 - October 16, 1878

Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald, October 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891

Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott, June 16, 1891 - November 24, 1892

Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson, December 5, 1892 - December 12, 1894

Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, December 21, 1894 - April 27, 1896

Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896

Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, July 11, 1896 - October 6, 1911

Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden, October 10, 1911 - October 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration)

Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden, October 12, 1917 - July 10, 1920 (Unionist Administration)

Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, July 10, 1920 - December 29, 1921 (Unionist - National Liberal and

Conservative Party)

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, December 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926

Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, June 29, 1926 - September 25, 1926

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, September 25, 1926 - August 6, 1930

Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett, August 7, 1930 - October 23, 1935

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, October 23, 1935 - November 15, 1948

Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent, November 15, 1948 - June 21, 1957

Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker, June 21, 1957 - April 22, 1963

Rt. Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson, April 22, 1963 - April 20, 1968

Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, April 20, 1968 -

The Cabinet. The Cabinet's primary responsibility in the Canadian political system is to determine priorities among the demands expressed by the people and to define policies to meet those demands. The Cabinet is a committee of Ministers chosen by the Prime Minister, generally from among members of the House of Commons, although one or two Cabinet Ministers are usually chosen from the Senate including the Leader of the Government in the Senate. It is unusual for a senator to head a department of government because the Constitution provides that measures for appropriating public funds or imposing taxes must originate in the House of Commons. If a senator headed a department another Minister in the House of Commons would have to speak on his behalf in respect of its affairs.

As at December 31, 1972, the following were members of the twentieth Ministry:

Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau

Leader of the Government in the Senate, Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin

Secretary of State for External Affairs, Hon. Mitchell William Sharp

President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen

President of the Treasury Board, Hon. Charles Mills Drury